RSS Feed

Manic windows

image

I want my windows to the floor
Framed by heavy velvet drapes
With the longest golden chord
I’d pull it down and face the day just like royalty
And not one bit of dust to rise in the bright sunlight
And not one moonbeam to penetrate and keep me up all night

I want my windows to the floor
My house upon an ocean bluff
So I could taste the sweet salt air
Or just step out and fall when I have had enough

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

11 responses »

  1. Oh, Hero–brilliant and wonderful yet again! This one is “frame-able”–(the poem)–I’d like to put it on one of my walls. It’s right up my alley, with the ocean bluff locale. And the last line is the “old” me, whom I hope will not come back to haunt…

    I also like the title a lot–Oliver probably would too, I’ll try to get him to check it out.

    I really wish I could invite the Hero pack & Debbie’s, & a few others for a big dinner–today I did a huge shop: turkey, ham (my freezer “bouncer” won’t permit a lone stick of butter in now). And I got quite the deal on seafood, so made cioppino for tomorrow (if you like that, you can join Oliver & I–I think I’ll make cornbread to go with it).

    Reply
    • Don’t jump little stick man
      Don’t jump little stick woman

      Haha

      I am glad you like it.
      I read your December poem on my “read blogs” page but it was gone at your site.
      It was so darn good I forgot to fret over it!
      Cloak of stories
      Yesterday’s escalator
      Cobalt quilted sky
      .
      Woohoo!!!!

      I love seafood and cornbread!

      Reply
      • Well, it’s up today–but I guess you know that. The cioppino was a bust, can’t even give it away (& didn’t have time to make cornbread)…

      • Sorry about all that.
        You seemed so happy about the whole deal.
        I just hate it didn’t work out.
        My Aunt Josephine made the best corn bread. She fried it and I think she added a bit of sugar.

  2. I should have paid more attention to the title . . .I jumped at the end! 🙂 God bless you, hero!

    Reply
  3. May there always be more in your life my friend so you walk past the open windows…

    God Bless and Merry Christmas!

    Prenin.

    Reply
  4. Another one to make us smile – I like the whimsey in your imaginative poetry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

