RSS Feed

Fullness of the moon

image

I can’t sleep when the moon is full
I feel the ocean’s mighty pull

I grasp at things that might not stay
Things the moon might pull away

I keep watch to feel and see
If this is the death of gravity

I feel plates move within the earth
And push down hard for all I’m worth

I’m thankful when the sky turns red
Now I know gravity’s not dead

The sun rises up without a sound
And pushes everything back down

I can’t sleep when the sky is bright
But somehow I think I might

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

15 responses »

  1. Nice. The moon is a mad mistress (oh, I feel a poem coming on). Have a good/great weekend, Hero (whatever the Pooh-folk will allow). God bless you.

    Reply
  2. So this is why we stay awake all night! Thank you hero!

    Reply
  3. Nice piece! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the visit and comment!

    There were 70,000 people without power and a maximum gust of 168mph so it was a wild night! πŸ™‚

    Thankfully nobody died, but there were an awful lot of trucks blown over…

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Reply
  4. Sweet dreams my friend! πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Reply
  5. What a fun and clever poem! I too feel the pull of that full moon, (our inner tides begin to rise?) Love this a lot!!

    Reply
  6. I enjoyed that, nice poem and lovely illustration to go with it. The moon affects us all…..I fear lycanthropes on a night like that..No really!

    Reply
  7. Oh do I ever identify! “Grasping at things that might not stay”–the insecurity I feel about the permanence of things that I put so much stock in. Good poem!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

