RSS Feed

1 bell for a penny 2 bells for a dime 3 bells for free

image

image

From the fields

They rang a bell for lunch
They rang a bell for supper
They rang a bell when there was trouble

Once Aunt Inez rang the bell so grandaddy could come see her new dress
Badly done
Badly done Inez
But granddaddy was no Mr Knightly

+

Morning of the bell

In a dream of gray
I fall out of a cloud
As a rough sketch
Balling myself up
falling
side to side
Ringing out through the watery air of some morning where I belong

+

Public work

I drove away
In a big yellow truck
Was I driving the sun?
This bright afternoon
That followed me
Like a reptile
sitting in the sun
Smoking cigarettes
Listening to church bells

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

11 responses »

  1. Thank you for writing. Thank you for sharing your gifts with us.

    Reply
  2. Three for free? We are blessed . . .and I loved them all. Giggled at “badly done, Inez”. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Okay, so I was kinda jazzed that we both seemed to be on the same page: bells–but then as I read on, I thought, well not exactly. But that’s fine–you know me, it’s not criticism. I agree with Debbie–I like the “badly done, Inez” too. Sometimes I wonder what cigars (?) you’re smokin’–or maybe what you eat before going to bed–there must be some “rhyme” to your peculiar (as in distinctly individual) reason, thus art, in thought-words. And maybe it’s a mystery to be spoiled by revelation– It must be good, I keep coming back! God bless you.

    Reply
    • i had not seen your lovely bell acrostic when i did this.
      i have spent a lifetime in the shadows of raised eyebrows and the cold winds of “your weird” .
      dont look for reason and it will all work out .
      i will give you only one get out of jail free pass for drug using insinuations :).

      i am very happy that you come back.
      later today i plan to visit with David ,drink diet pepsi and add a picture of the bell Inez rang out on that fateful day 70+ years ago (David inherited grandaddys place)

      Reply
  4. Very nice group of poems; I especially like “morning of the Bell” & the imagery of the afternoon as a reptile in the sun , in “Public Works”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

