RSS Feed

Memory storm Squire style

image

At night I fumble for cough drops
—–in the dark
        In the dark
I hum the tune from high school days.

I remember one sunny afternoon
Mike and Walter walked across the school yard up to the front steps.
They had been in the car getting high.
Walter walked in slow circles riding in the melody singing “in the dark” over and over like a broken record.
Mike stood there like he had just climbed a mountain or he was waiting to receive his first gold medal.
The sun was shining on him and it seemed that for a moment anything was possible.
Walter on the other hand was still riding that melody but there was something guarded and sad in his voice.

These are the things I think on here
in the dark. Until the chorus of “dontcha need me” falls like lightning and the rain washes Mike back to Hawaii with his wife and who knows how many kids and Walter’s sad face stretches out across a brimming puddle into the unknown.

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

20 responses »

  1. Eloquent, poignant poem – nicely done – (I LIKE it!!! 🙂 )

    Reply
  2. Hi dude! 🙂

    Good poem! 🙂

    Yeah I HATE shopping and pick the quietest times of the day to do it, but I have friends nearby so if I have a Panic Attack I’m in a place of safety.

    Now the shopping is done for another couple of weeks I can just chill out!

    Thank God I’m waking early – 7am the streets and the Co-Op are quiet so if I need anything there’s no worries…

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Reply
    • I have left a handful of items on the floor and gone out the door more than once 🙂

      Reply
      • I’m lucky in that I haven’t had to do that – yet – but I’ve come close! 😦

        Thanks for the visit and comment! 🙂

        Yes, you never get a second chance to make a good impression and we can’t help how people judge us, but if you stay friendly and come across as harmless then things improve! 🙂

        I am scared to death until I walk through the door, but my local taxi drivers know me and look after me so by the time I hit the centre of Middleton I’m settled and ready to do what I need to do.

        The rest is just down to kindness and charm! 🙂

        God Bless!

        Prenin.

      • Your cool Prenin.
        I like your attitude 🙂

      • Thanks! 🙂

        Happy Christmas and a Wonderful New Year my friend! 🙂

        God Bless!

        Prenin.

  3. Oh, boy, this is deep and resonant–I like it immensely, Hero.

    (I wonder how many people have had the “panic attacks in the grocery store” syndrome? I’m glad mine was a brief phase–over & done with in the early 80’s…)

    Back to your poem: I know you said you don’t do TV, but as I was re-reading this poem, the voice I heard saying the words was the narrator for the “Walton’s” program–very mellifluous, soothing even if a little sad…

    Thanks again for the link to Deb’s blog! I so love the 2 Cor 1:3-4 reminder.

    Reply
    • It is mostly Walmart where I would leave that stuff and go.
      When I get stressed Phil says ,”dont go to Walmart now ” 🙂
      I havent done that in a while.
      I wouldnt say I had a full fledged panic attacks but I would start sweating and have to
      get out of there. I was fine when I went outside.
      Outside is big for me ,if you havent noticed .

      My wife told me this morning that Mike has 8 kids!
      He became a Christian a long time ago but he still doesnt have a gold medal ha ha.

      I thought you would like Deb’s today 🙂

      oh yeah I remember the Waltons well.
      There was a TV in every @#%& room in my house growing up.
      “Move your head I cant see ….”
      oh whatever
      I wont go to Walmart today 🙂

      Reply
  4. Have you been match making here hero? 🙂 so glad you did! thank you!
    And thank you for the public service announcement. I don’t know how you do this, take a memory and turn it into something so cool. But I’m glad you do do it!
    Walmart is the worst, I think. I try to avoid going mostly . . .so like Phil’s advice.

    Reply
  5. “Can you break away from your alibis?” makes me think of Barbara Marx Hubbard who says repeatedly that her life had been governed by great questions. 🙂

    Reply
  6. I am so lost on this “alibi–chorus” thread–am I the only pedantic, pedestrian (is there another “P” word I could use?) reader? I never get to be in on the “inside jokes”–whine, whine…

    Just stopped by to say “Hi!”, actually. I may have to take a day off today, and eat junk food–slouching on the couch in front of the TV. (The day after the “Oscars” is so tiring…hahahahaha.)

    Bless you!

    Reply
  7. I like this stormy piece of artwork, & the prose reflects the random, & yet on some level purposeful, stream of thinking that we all experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

