RSS Feed

In the heart of winter

image

In the heart of winter

I’ll bring you a grab bag
Of frost and snow
I’ll bring you a bowl of ice
with bits of fall leaves frozen within
I’ll lead you down a windy mountain
With your prizes in tow
Later ,in the valley,we can build a fire in the cold stillness of night
And you can hold up the ice I gave you in the light and turn it

round

and

round
We will find symbolism
We will hide stories in the heart of winter

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

10 responses »

  1. Oh . . .I really loved this one! Not looking forward to winter, but you’ve helped me to think of the stories that may come out of it. 🙂

    Reply
    • Winter is fine with me.
      And Autumn is awesome!
      Weather is not all that cold here usually its just a few days that I choose to stay by the fire.
      Winter is much preferred over Summer for my work.
      I do miss swimming in the pond though.
      Thanks

      Reply
  2. Oh yes, I like this very much!

    Reply
    • thanks Caddo
      glad for you to like it

      i was thinking of an old song
      ” and you want to take her with you to the heartland of the winter”

      only I found out that really it is “hard land of the winter”

      broke my cold little heart 🙂

      Reply
  3. I heard myself the other day in conversation. Every other word seemed to be wow. And here, again, another one. I traveled from the left coast, nearly innocent still, and found a trip that included The Cream. Thank you for reminding me of the pieces. P.S. I think that lyrics, like poetry, are subjective. Heartland it is.

    Reply
  4. I like this. Especially because one time I pulled a “plate ” of ice with leaves embedded in it out of the bird bath. I held it up to the sun & the light shown through the leaves like stained glass.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

