RSS Feed

Brainwashed

image

Brainwashed/ Kendra

Take out my brain
And place it in a cool creek

Lay me down in the water about a mile down stream

While you stand there
( holding half of my skull in your left hand) feel free to say stuff about me that you would normally be afraid to even think heavily on
After all , how would I ever know
Down there blowing bubbles
Singing the Seagull song

While you wonder out loud about
my IQ or my first date

Don’t bother about a thing
my brain will float back into place
And you can snap my head back together
And wipe away the little ring of blood

On the way home
I might tell you my IQ
or
something about Kendra

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

10 responses »

  1. Let me know how this works out for you! πŸ™‚ Loved it as always. Is this recommended for getting all the cobwebs out too?

    Reply
  2. Strange how sweaters unraveling can feel like brutal mirrors fit only for breaking. After years of no image the reflection is heartbreaking, if that’s possible still. Freedom to speak, an invitation to talk, a taking of responsibility, a desire to set things straight, these save me from the shards that look at wrists with rapacious, insane despair

    Reply
    • It is never my intent to make you feel bad.
      I think that all honest people
      see a harsh picture in time’s mirror.
      I hope and pray the best for you.

      Reply
      • Years ago, when I was homeschooling my young children for a time, we went to a forest in a conservation area. All the trees were labelled with their names and types, both in the English & Braille languages. I then discovered why all the paths were lined with ropes … to assist those who were blind or sight-impaired in their journey. Their looks were tactile, their touch their seeing.

        What I see, what is reflected, is a gift when I look at it as a chance to heal, as an opportunity for compassion of self and others. For some, all of this is cliche; for me it’s often lifelines or even ropes thru a forest. For me, I have has taste enough to give me an appetite for the time when I will not regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it. A promise that was given to me together with the notion that I could use that promise as a beacon to walk toward.

        For whatever reason, your poems are a gift, both inviting and compelling me to look and to move out of that dark place where I can’t or won’t forgive myself; to see where I’ve hurt others and to do everything that can be done to make restitution.

        I am grateful that you are able to write what you do and that you’re willing to share it and to let your words speak for themselves in however your audience hears them.

        Namaste, Leslie

      • I am grateful for this comment πŸ™‚

  3. Holy cow, Wath! You can still sing with your brain missing. You pack a punch here, even if I don’t get it all. I get the general idea, though. I’m intrigued by your “planet of the apes” tag, too.

    Reply
    • Monica you can call me my real name which is Mark or Shrimp ha ha
      I am glad you liked this.
      My head was having a kind of fuzzy getting a cold feeling .
      I remembered the ape General from the original Planet of the Apes getting confused about “brain washing”- he took it literally.
      Sometimes I think it would be nice to let my brain float down stream and sing ( without a brain)
      If I did it today I would sing 1234 by Feist.
      Oh but now some Beatles song won’t go away –
      Turn off your mind
      Relax and float down stream…..

      Thanks for letting me ramble πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  4. I meant to ask this before–(if I already did, please forgive the amnesia):

    Do you write the poems first & then do the art–or art first, poem after??

    God bless you today, Caddo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

