RSS Feed

Pier pressure

image

Build a pier just for me
About six miles out to sea

Not to fish with hooks and line
Just to sit and rest my mind

Let me watch the barnacles grow
Beneath the crashing briney flow

I feel the child within me expand
As I gain the  waves and lose the land

If by chance I never go
Don’t think it vain
These seeds you’ve sown

For I have danced with gulls and whales
And heard the rustling of the sails

From the confines of my mind
This pier you made for me

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

9 responses »

  1. This poem dances! 🙂 Thank you!

    Reply
  2. Thank you for this.

    http://www.robbie-robertson.com/media/videos/

    Take Your Partner By The Hand

    Reply
  3. Music to build the pier by …

    Reply
  4. Leslie,

    I was hearing it wrong all this time:
    “Take your baby by the wrist and in her mouth an Amethyst
    And in her eyes two saphires blue
    And you need her
    And she needs you. ”

    I always wondered why there was a nemesis in her mouth 🙂

    thanks

    Reply
  5. I think one of the reasons laughter’s so good is that it often comes when I’m speechless. In this case, speechless not due to nemesis or amethyst but with awe. Thank you, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

