RSS Feed

Shutters of the heart and sky

image

All the stars have come unhinged
An ocean’s on the floor
Forests unfold like paper dolls
And smell of pitch and tar

Just a letter
just a song
A better time for me

I tread saltwater
I search the darkness
stars flap against the sky
To usher in the cold  of space
The distant thread of time

All the stars have come unhinged
I’m drowning on the floor

Orion comes and then the sun
A rooster shuts the gates of space
With one bright morning crow

The sun stays tightly locked in place
The tide no longer high
I mop the floor and shut the door
Stepping hopefully outside

I see your face in mountain streams
Your presence taints the wind
I feel the pull of gravity
The tide rolls in again

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

6 responses »

  1. Wow. This one moves me powerfully! All of it. From title to end. How do you write so consistently like this? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Nice poem. I enjoy your drawings combined with muse. I found your site after becoming a fan of Summer’s blog. You two have similar sketches.

    I took a decade break from photography, reading, and writing. My brain turned to mush and it has been painful trying to restart the fire. Keep it coming….and…I agree…”where are the heroes”

    Reply
  3. Don’t wast your time looking at my blog…focus on your art and poems and stay in the abstract…those that have artistic endeavours need to find their small slice of peace and motivation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

