RSS Feed

relative me

Relative me

The run begins with the donning of a backwards ball cap

Very American

Young American

Not so me

As the run progresses the recurring thought of bringing the
riding lawn mower

Down here to knock down all this grass returns

Very American

Bold American

Not so me

The grass is on someone else’s land but the creed of
progress is in my mind

“it is better to ask forgiveness than ask for permission”

Very capitalist

Not so me

At the end of the trail I rest on a hay bale and an ant gets
on my arm

I grab him a bit hastily and then like melting butter

The Zen master returns

I place him back on the hay bale and wish him well as he
disappears in the dark spaces

Between the straw

I see other ants traversing their world of hay

My eyes close slightly and I begin my run back

Efficiently, determined, single-minded

Very ant

Not so me

Back at the house I pull burrs and seeds from my socks

And feel at one with the world

My blue eyes squinting into the rising sun

Very Asian

Very tired

Not so me

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

2 responses »

  1. I just love this. I say that a lot, I know. But this, this was so you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

