RSS Feed

Let me be a king

image

Let me be a prince in spring
While the seeds lay in the ground
And the trees are all a’bloom
For I may need a royal knapsack and a feast or two

Let me be an Earl in summer
While branches hang heavy and berries ripen on the vine
For I may need a cool place to rest my head and a flask of wine

Let me be a peasant in the fall
While the harvest moon shines bright
Happy in the bonfire’s glow with no care in sight

Let me be a king in winter
While the fields are bare
Hide my hunger behind castle walls
shelter me from cold despair

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

4 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness! I so love this! πŸ™‚ Thank you!

    Reply
  2. A princely poem – so good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

