RSS Feed

Reining in my rainbow

Because it has a freshness about it
And it makes a cool place in the back of my throat
That is why I love blue.

Because I know that clowns are inherently evil
And that crows eat dead things
That is why I love black.

Because it looks  good in turquoise and it is so much humbler than gold
That is why I love silver.

Because of Macaws and Redwinged Blackbirds .
That is why I put up with red.

Because I threw a grapefruit across the kitchen when it squirted me in the eye.  That is why I have been cautious around pink for forty two years.

Because of the fullness of summer and my jealous problem. That is why I waffle concerning green.

Because of Jimi Hendrix and Orange Crush soda pop .  That is why orange can make me smile.

***************************
Orange is young
Full of daring
But very unstable for the first go round

BOLD AS LOVE
J H

About wherearetheheros

just someone my mother might know

4 responses »

  1. I just love this so much. You know, you are book worthy, don’t you? You are. My two girls always knew that clowns are evil too. 🙂

    Reply
    • You just made my day !
      When I put that down I thought about how you have to turn the “face” bottles around.

      I have a crazy silly clown poem I will try to find.
      It is not a hate clown thing just a silly thing.
      I don’t think it’s a sin to hate clowns 😉

      Reply
  2. This is an amazing piece of writing. I loved the grapefruit thing especially. Oh and why you like crows.
    Did you know that before the orange fruit came into Europe, there was no word meaning orange? We named the colour after the fruit; before then the colour was referred to as a brown or an ochre or similar.
    And the colour Magenta was named after a place where the pigment was mined.
    I love colours. My first ever poems were about colours, one about Blue and one about Yellow. I think my Dad might still have them somewhere. I was 6, I think.
    thanks for making me smile today.
    xx 🙂

    Reply
  3. thank you Viv.
    I wrote this one very quickly,first color/thought to come to mind. That at least makes it honest 🙂 .

    So Jimmy was right “Orange” is young.
    I did not know the origin of Orange or Magenta.
    Thanks for sharing that.
    Magenta is used a lot in drafting because it shows up so good on the screen.

    Blue is my favorite and I think the most versatile color.
    Walt Disney must have a patent on over a 100 or so “scary blues”.

    I threw that grapefruit as hard as I could.
    I was given grace but warned of great wrath if I ever did it again 🙂

    thanks so much

    Reply

Leave a Reply

